Scott’s friends in Africa


Hi this is Scott Hatzell. Once we finally arrived in Malawi  and settled down, I met Dr. Trywell  Nyirong0 from Nchenchena.  He was very helpful and he was able to keep up with my flash walking style.  We wandered through the market and heard people call us Obama’s Children. We’ll keep in touch with Dr. Try.  He is a wonderful person and everyone who met him liked him.

A day or so later we went to Lake Malawi, the fourth largest freshwater lake in the word.  Lake Superior, where my brother has a home on Madeline Island, is the largest.  So we would tell people about Lake Superior, and they would understand where we lived.  I took a rest  day and hung around Lake Malawi with  Jen and Wendy—they ate fish heads and I ate Chieck.  Mary Jo  went to meet Charles Tepero, who took some of the group to two schools, Mtonda and Nasenga.  She left a Madeline Island ABC book with Charles–the first one to be left in Africa!

MaryJo gives Madeleine Island book to Charles Tepero near Mangochi, Malawi

MaryJo gives Madeleine Island book to Charles Tepero near Mangochi, Malawi

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by C.W Petit on May 15, 2016 at 8:34 am

    Hi Scott. I have been trying to locate Dr. Try. I believe that he went to Hiram college with my brother. Can you please send contact information for me ? I would so preciate it !
    Thank you. C.W. Petit (Carol Webet).sister of Dan Webrr

    Reply

  2. Posted by C.W Petit on May 16, 2016 at 8:32 am

    If anyone knows how to contact Dr. Trywell A.W. Nyirongo please contact me cwpetit4@yahoo.com. or C.w.Petit on facebook. Thank you !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

